End of an Era...and the beginning of another!

yoderjac

Bowhunting has been a passion of mine for many years. When they first legalized crossbows in VA, several manufacturers sent reps to the training for our Hunter Education instructors. That was my first experience shooting a crossbow. As an instructor, I ended up buying a Parker crossbow, as they were a VA based company. I took it for a couple of hunts and killed a few deer, just to get enough experience to be comfortable teaching it as part of our Hunter Ed classes. It mostly sat on the shelf.

As time went on, and my arthritis got worse, I found that In colder weather I could not reliably draw on deer depending on how long I sat in the stand. At that time, I mostly used a bow regardless of the hunting season. I then moved to using a crossbow during colder weather. That still gave me plenty of early season compound bow hunts.

As old basketball rotator cuff injuries came home to roost and the arthritis got worse, the percentage of the season where I could use a crossbow diminished. The last couple years, I did not hunt at all with my Switchback. This spring, I re-injured my rotator cuff. It is no longer plausible that I'll be able to return to the compound for hunting. A couple weeks ago, I was at the neighbors. The 14 year-old son told me he had been saving his money and has saved up $250 and asked for a recommendation on a compound bow. That was all the convincing I needed, a good home had presented itself. I told him to save his money and he could have my switchback.