sad looking red fox

JFK52

I have lived in my current South Central WI rural location for 34 years. I have NEVER seen a red fox during this entire time period. This year, a red fox has been seen under my bird feeders and in my yard area over 20 times. I mostly see it at night. I have seen it in the daylight maybe three times.
Today I got a good look at in during the daylight hours as it came in my yard and laid down in a shaded area next to the woods. It looks like it is very skinny and possibly has mange? It's tail has no hair on it, it looks like a long bone. It was holding up it's left rear leg sometimes while it walked. It never limped before that I have seen. Is this red fox in distress? Does a foxes coat appear different in the summer? As this is my first red fox sighting, I have no knowledge about red foxes in the least.

Yes their fur is lighter in the summer and their skin is thinner. I might have mange but it is tough to know without a pic. I would just leave it alone if it is not bothering anything.

I looked at pictures of red foxes with mange on the Net. This fox definitely has mange. It's tail has no fur on it what so ever. It is laying in the open around my house in the broad daylight. Since I had mostly seen it at night, I was unaware of it's condition. I got a good long view of it today with my Vortex 10x56 binos to confirm the mange. Can a fox recover from mange on it's own? I have a Rottie, do I need to worry about it passing the mange to my dog? The red fox has been eating the chipmunks that I have been shooting off my bird feeders.
Mother Nature can be cruel.

Last edited: